"Caring for women and children"


It is very important to know that how the Inner Wheel 326 took the final shape. Inner Wheel Club of Raipur was organized in 1972. Its Charter President was Mrs. Kanmal Vale Rao. These days the Raipur Club was associated with District-325 (Andhra Pradesh). Mrs. Anita Sen of Inner Wheel Club of Raipur became the District Chairman in the year 1974-75. Till then there were no other clubs in Orissa and undivided Madhya Pradesh. In 1982 Inner Wheel Club of Madhya Pradesh came into existence. In 1984 Inner Wheel Club of Berhampur, Jeypore & Bhubaneswar in Orissa and Seoni in Madhya Pradesh joined the InnerWheel movements.

As Inner Wheel Clubs in Orissa and Madhya Pradesh were with IW District 315, members were finding it difficult to do service projects with Andhra Pradesh Clubs because of the distance. For which Inner Wheel Clubs were doing most of their projects with Anns & Rotarians of Rotary International District 3260.

January 1985 became the history for our district when Mrs. Maya Surjan President of Inner Wheel Club of Raipur attended the District Conference at Vijayawada and had an opportunity to meet the then Association President Mrs. Maitri Mangaraj. The formation of a new Inner Wheel District was discussed in greater details.

In February 1985 Rotary District 3260 Conference was held at Raipur. The then Rotary Club of Raipur President Rtn. Lalit Surjan (PDG) Organized a meeting and proposed to make a new Inner Wheel District for Orissa and Madhya Pradesh and a proposal was handed over to Past District Governor Dr. Sukumar Das. 1984-85 District Governor Dr. K.S.N. Rao accepted the proposal and announced the formation of new Inner Wheel District 326 at the Rotary District Conference.

Then the President of Inner Wheel Club of Cuttack Mrs. Anjali Pattnaik proposed the name of Mrs. Lalita Jain as the first District Chairman and Mrs. Maya Surjan as First District Secretary of Inner Wheel District 326. Provisional Inner Wheel District was started after the members present accepted the names for District Chairman and District Secretary.

Past Association President Mrs. Manobhakta Vatschalam in July 1985 in the premises of Rajkumar College, Raipur officially announced the formation of Inner Wheel District 326 and Presented the District Certificate.

In 1995 Inner Wheel Club of Durg. Raipur Mid-Town, Cuttack Mid-Town Jabalpur, Korba, Raipur West and Damoh joined the Inner Wheel Movements. Inner Wheel District 326 had the opportunity to host the first District Conference of our District on 16th February 1986 at Berhampur. Thus long journey of Inner Wheel District 326 service started in the District.

Website managed by PDC Mrs Raj Ruprah - Ruprah Computers & Commtech Engineers, Jabalpur **